BJP registers big win in Maharashtra & Karnataka Rajya Sabha elections

MUMBAI: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ruling in the centre registered a Rajya Sabha win in three of the four states where elections were held for 16 Rajya Sabha seats. While it retained three seats in Maharashtra and Karnataka it suffered setbacks in Haryana and Rajasthan where it won only 1 seat.

In Maharashtra, the ruling alliance of Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress suffered a jolt as BJP won three out of six Rajya Sabha seats. Sena, NCP and Congress won 1 seat each to the upper house of the parliament. 

BJP's big win in Maharashtra is attributed to its leader former chief minister Devendra Fadnavis, who has been relentlessly working to improve the party's tally in both the elections. Party seniors say that Fadnavis who had missed on becoming the CM again after differences with Sena has made it kind of a personal mission to fight against the three parties.

Senior party leaders like Fadnavis, state chief Chandrakant Patil, and Union Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia celebrate along with winning candidates Piyush Goyal, Anil Bonde and Dhananjay Mahadik after the results of Rajya Sabha elections, outside the BJP office in Mumbai.


  • Mohammed Asif
    Mohammed Asif

    Asif is our Photo Editor. He is an veteran photo journalist with close to two decades of experience in some of the most respected media houses including Afternoon DC, The Times of India and others.

    View Reporter News

Related News